Building a Mystery

Yarn & Needle

Needles

My knitting journey began because of a gag Christmas present. I had been joking about learning and my friend Chuck decided to lay down the gauntlet with a gift of needles (US9, blue aluminium), yarn, and a how-to book. Never one to back down from a challenge, I found someone to teach me the basics and I’m still going strong. He ate his words when I presented his now-wife with hand-knit baby socks when she was pregnant a few years ago…

Pattern

One of my favorite knitting discoveries in the past few years has been the Mystery Knit-Along (MKAL). I’ve completed four such shawls at this point – both of Ysolda Teague‘s Follow Your Arrow patterns (2014 and 2015), the most recent from Kirsten Kapur at Through the Loops, and Stephen West‘s Exploration Station. Stephen’s designs are the least my style – I typically go for pretty lace or cables, sometimes a striped situation; his current patterns favor bold colors and focus on construction. But as I said, I like a challenge, even to my sensibilities.

I’ll be documenting my progress and helpful hints this go ’round with The Doodler. I solemnly swear to do my best in keeping up with the clue schedule:

Clue 1 – Friday, November 6

Clue 2 – Friday, November 13

Clue 3 – Friday, November 20

Clue 4 – Friday, November 27

Yarn

Meet Jupiter, Nightmare, and Clay

The yarn recommendation for this pattern is for solid, semi-solid, or speckled yarn. I dove deep into my stash and came up with these beauties from Hedgehog Fibres. Jupiter will serve as my color A (the main color, the leading role in the shawl), Nightmare will be color B (Color B is an accent color. It needs to offer some contrast to color A. Think about a pop of color or something brighter or darker than color A), and Clay will be color C (Color C joins the party fashionably late. It’s a color that demands to be featured. This could be a bold sassy color or something dark and dramatic). I’m not normally super bold when mixing colors but Stephen’s patterns deserve a bit of daring. The blues of Jupiter and Nightmare are in the same color family and Clay picks up some of the small hints of red in both.

Cast On

I’m ready to start knitting and writing, and maybe learn some new tricks along the way!

 

One thought on “Building a Mystery

Leave a Reply

