Ready to Start

The pattern went live Thursday evening – earlier than expected for US knitters! I, of course, started right away. And subsequently had to rip it out twice before finding my rhythm.

My first mistake? Not really a mistake, but I thought I was getting the i-cord edging wrong. Turns out I wasn’t.

The second mistake? Didn’t read the pattern correctly. At all.

So, two good lessons: Trust your skills and read the dang directions carefully.

About half-way there
About half-way there

Purl Soho has a great photo tutorial for the basic i-cord. Turns out that Elizabeth Zimmermann is the one who figured out (or “unvented”*) this technique! She was responsible for modernizing the craft and is a hero to many knitters for her no-nonsense methods.

For the i-cord edge, the video tutorial from New Stitch a Day explains the technique in a clear, easy to follow way. Watching this was reassuring that, yes, I had it right the first time.

As for the pattern itself, I like the wing shape that is emerging. I’m waffling on how the yarn is working, though. It photographs much better than it looks while I’m knitting. I have a feeling that once the red in color C is added to the mix, it will pull out some of the darker tones in color B that I’m missing right now.

How are you doing with the pattern? Did you rip it out as many times as I did?

*“One un-vents something; one unearths it; one digs it out, one runs it down in whatever recesses of the eternal consciousness it has gone to ground.  I very much doubt if anything is really new when one works in the prehistoric medium of wool with needles.” – Knitter’s AlmanacElizabeth Zimmermann

Title inspiration: “Ready to Start,” The Arcade Fire
Leave a Reply

